History of Chernobyl tragedy

History of Chernobyl tragedy
History of Chernobyl tragedy

The tragedy at the Chernobyl nuclear power station is the largest man-made and humanitarian disaster of the last century. Experts from all over the world continue to eliminate its environmental consequences so far. Lessons, conclusions and reasons, are extremely important for the history of the world nuclear energy and the development of peaceful atom. Therefore, today, after 33 years, this topic has not lost its relevance.

The accident happened on April 26, 1986. An explosion, resulting in more than 200 thousand square kilometers were exposed to radioactive contamination, has occurred in the fourth power unit, located 120 km from Kiev – the capital of Ukraine. The Chernobyl disaster led to particularly serious consequences in the territory of  Belarus which was a closely neighbourhood. Radioactive contamination partially reached Norway, Finland and Sweden. According to the expert reports, the maximum contamination by radiation decay products affected the territories of Ukraine, Belarus and Russia.

The exact number of disaster victims has not been announced yet. The approximate data is about 4 thousand people who died from the radiation exposure immediately at the time of the tragedy. According to Greenpeace, the total number of the dead and the injured can vary from 90 thousand to 350 thousand people.

There is no single and unconditional version, as they say, regarding the causes of the Chernobyl environmental disaster. Most experts are inclined to a fateful combination of circumstances in the form of technical errors of personnel and imperfections in the design of the reactor. The USSR leadership took measures to classify data on its real and predicted consequences. Some of them are opened only these days. 

Articles

M. Gorbachev: the Chernobyl accident gave rise to environmental nationalism

M. Gorbachev: the Chernobyl accident gave rise to environmental nationalism

M. Gorbachev: the Chernobyl accident gave rise to environmental nationalism ...
"Read More"
Chernobyl firefighters: to stop ... to disconnect ... to eliminate ... to save ...

Chernobyl firefighters: to stop … to disconnect … to eliminate … to save …

Chernobyl firefighters: to stop ... to disconnect ... to eliminate ...
"Read More"
Chernobyl as a diagnosis

Chernobyl as a diagnosis

Chernobyl as a diagnosis Paraphrasing a well-known expression, we can ...
"Read More"
Moscow or Kiev: who is responsible?

Moscow or Kiev: who is responsible for Chernobyl?

Moscow or Kiev: who is responsible? Since the construction of ...
"Read More"
Corruption Zone: who needs Chernobyl forests?

Corruption Zone: who needs Chernobyl forests?

Corruption Zone: who needs Chernobyl forests? The Chernobyl exclusion zone ...
"Read More"
The 216th radio call sign: Chernobyl suicide crew

The 216th radio call sign: Chernobyl suicide crew

The 216th radio call sign: Chernobyl suicide crew “... 34 ...
"Read More"
The ChNPP is a testing ground for numerous experiments

The ChNPP is a testing ground for numerous experiments

The ChNPP is a testing ground for numerous experiments The ...
"Read More"
My signature is on the acts of commissioning the Chernobyl nuclear power plant

My signature is on the acts of commissioning the Chernobyl nuclear power plant

My signature is on the acts of commissioning the Chernobyl ...
"Read More"

История Чернобыльской катастрофы

Чернобыльская катастрофа
Чернобыльская катастрофа

Катастрофа на Чернобыльской атомной электростанции – самая крупная техногенная и гуманитарная катастрофой прошлого века. Её экологические последствия специалисты со всего мира продолжают устранять до сих пор. Уроки, выводы, причины, крайне важны для истории мировой атомной энергетики и развития мирного атома. Поэтому и сегодня, спустя 33 года, эта тема не утратила своей актуальности.

Авария случилась 26 апреля 1986 года. Взрыв, в результате которого радиоактивному загрязнению подверглось более 200 тыс. кв. км, произошел в четвертом энергоблоке, расположенном в 120 км от Киева – столицы Украины. Чернобыльская катастрофа привела к особенно тяжелым последствиям на территории тесно соседствующей Белоруссии. Радиоактивное загрязнение частично добралось до Норвегии, Финляндии и Швеции. Согласно заключению экспертов, максимальная загрязненность продуктами радиационного распада, коснулась территорий Украины, Белоруссии и России.

Точное количество жертв аварии до сих пор не названо. Приблизительные данные – это около 4 тысяч человек, погибших от радиационного облучения непосредственно в момент аварии. По данным Greenpeace, общее число погибших и пострадавших может варьироваться от 90 тыс. до 350 тыс человек.

Единой, как говориться, железобетонной версии, относительно причин экологической катастрофы на ЧАЭС, как таковой, нет. Большинство специалистов склоняется к роковому стечению обстоятельств в виде технических ошибок персонала и несовершенства конструкции реактора. Руководством СССР были приняты меры по засекречиванию данных о ее реальных и прогнозируемых последствиях. Некоторые из них открываются только в наши дни.

Публикации по теме

Учимся отделять «чернобыльские зерна от плевел»

Учимся отделять «чернобыльские зерна от плевел»

Учимся отделять «чернобыльские зерна от плевел» Взрыв на Чернобыльской АЭС ...
«Подробнее»
Какую правду знал Легасов?

Какую правду знал Легасов?

Какую правду знал Легасов? Академика Валерия Алексеевича Легасова нашли мертвым ...
«Подробнее»
Чернобыль: период полураспада закончился

Чернобыль: период полураспада закончился

Чернобыль: период полураспада закончился Первые две недели после аварии на ...
«Подробнее»
Заметки на полях: уроки Чернобыля и Фукусимы

Заметки на полях: уроки Чернобыля и Фукусимы

Заметки на полях: уроки Чернобыля и Фукусимы Чернобыльский реактор взорвался ...
«Подробнее»
Жизнь по соседству с Чернобылем

Жизнь по соседству с Чернобылем

Жизнь по соседству с Чернобылем У руководства Украины грандиозные планы ...
«Подробнее»
Как эвакуировали Припять

Как эвакуировали Припять

Как эвакуировали Припять С точки зрения логистического менеджмента эвакуация Припяти ...
«Подробнее»
Чернобыль до конца не поняли

Чернобыль до конца не поняли

Чернобыль до конца не поняли Ежегодную годовщину катастрофы на Чернобыльской ...
«Подробнее»
Радиационные мифы или объективная реальность

Радиационные мифы или объективная реальность

Радиационные мифы или объективная реальность Проблема ядерного терроризма много лет ...
«Подробнее»
Чернобыль: документ 136/11-769

Чернобыль: документ 136/11-769

Чернобыль: документ 136/11-769 Органы госбезопасности контролировали всё, что так или ...
«Подробнее»